It Had to Be You

Back story #1

I have been on a serious jazz standards kick recently. I set my Pandora channel to Tony Bennett and have been listening nonstop for about two weeks now. I’ve blown through Ella Fitzgerald, Louis Armstrong, Ray Charles, Glenn Miller, Nat King Cole, Etta James, Frank Sinatra, etc. etc. etc.

It’s been awesome.

Because I’ve been listening so incessantly, some of the more popular standards have come up multiple times as they were covered by multiple artists.

Dude-ism #69

On Friday night, I was back at my parents’ house to surprise them upon their return to the United States (they were off cruising the Mediterranean for almost two weeks in honor of their 25th wedding anniversary.. a WELL-DESERVED trip).

As I was cleaning up from dinner, I was singing “It Had to Be You” to myself. Dude was still sitting at the kitchen table. ( He was so excited our parents were back that he actually hung out with us for multiple hours over the course of the weekend! Normally, when we’re all on one floor, he’s on the other.)

I know Dude knows this song, so as I got to the end of the refrain, I paused and waited for Dude to fill in the final word.

“It had to be you,

Wonderful you,

It had to be…”

“Meeeeeeeee,” sang Dude.

Leave a Reply

