You know Dude??

Back story #1

When Dude started at his new program after graduating in June, our parents were informed at the last minute that he would not be receiving transportation services.

One of our cousins graciously agreed to help out Mom and drive Dude to and from his program when she wasn’t available to do it herself.

Back story #2

In high school, I lived in the band wing. My two cousins, who are the same age as me and went to the same high school, played sports. Consequently, they have a lot of friends in common. Nine times out of ten, those friends have no idea who I am, let alone that I went to the same high school and am the same age as them.

It’s actually pretty hilarious. I’m used to it and it doesn’t bother me one bit.

I was not, however, prepared for what happened last night.

Dude-ism #91

Last night, we headed out in Philadelphia to support our younger cousin, who was making her bartending debut. Nick, who we met up with at the bar, brought along some of his buddies from high school.

“You know my cousin Julianne, right?” he said to one of his friends.

“Umm no. Don’t think we ever met,” replied the friend.

“I think we have in passing. We graduated the same year,” I said.

“What?? You graduated ’06?”

“Yep.”

“Same school?”

“Yep.”

“Oh.”

Suddenly a look of comprehension came across the guy’s face.

“Wait! Are you Dude’s sister?!” he asked.

I’m sure the look on my face was one of shock. The only time someone has known Dude and not me is when it’s someone who worked with him at school.

This guy from high school had NO idea who I was, but he knew Dude.

“You know Dude?!?” I asked incredulously.

“Yea! I drove with Nick one day when he went to pick him up from his program. He’s a cool kid.”

I busted out laughing. “Yes. Yes he is.”

Leave a Reply

