Apparently Dude is just as forgetful as the rest of us

Dude-ism #119

I arrived at my parents’ house yesterday evening for the Thanksgiving holiday. After dinner, I was sitting at the kitchen table, playing music on my laptop. Dude was standing over my left shoulder because he’s nosy and likes to see what you’re doing when you’re on personal technological devices.

I turned my laptop slightly towards him so that he could see my iTunes library.

“Are there any songs you would like me to play?” I asked him.

He responded, but I couldn’t make out what he was saying.

“What?” I asked.

Dude mumbled again. This time, he closed out the sentence with, “It’s gone.”

“Dude, speak clearer. What are you saying?”

“It’s gone,” he responded.

“I know that’s what you said,” I responded, exasperated. “What did you say before?”

“I don’t know.”

That’s when Dad and I started laughing uncontrollably. The reason we laughed is because Dude said, “I don’t know,” in a tone that’s akin to someone who literally doesn’t remember what he just said. It’s the vocal equivalent of shrugging your shoulders. I can’t remember him ever doing that before.

 

And that’s why I’m especially thankful for my brother on this Thanksgiving. He keeps me on my toes and keeps me laughing on a regular basis!

Leave a Reply

