It turns out Dude DOES like me

The most magical thing happened last night.

I was at my parents’ house, hanging out with Dude in his room. He normally asks you to go away when he has determined that you’ve overstayed your welcome. Sensing my dismissal was coming soon, I got up to head downstairs.

“Ok Dude,” I said. “I’ll leave you alone now.”

“Not yet,” Dude said, glancing up from his iTouch, which was blaring Wisconsin’s fight song for about the millionth time.

I stopped, surprised. “Do you want me to go downstairs?” I asked.

“No,” Dude responded firmly, shaking his head.

“Do you want me to hang out with you?” I prepared for him to smirk and say no to that as well.

“Yes yes!” Dude answered.

You could have knocked me over with a feather.

We hung out, just the two of us, for a solid two and a half/three hours last night. Dude was in a super giggly, silly mood.There were several times he was gasping for air because he was laughing so hard.

It. Was. AWESOME.

4 thoughts on “It turns out Dude DOES like me

  1. the Dude has been part of my life for several years now. i see him every Tuesday, and help him get his horse ready for his riding lesson. your blog is great – very interesting, and it has given me some insight as to how he operates. i wish i was more musical, as maybe that would help us communicate better!

    • Thanks for reading, Marti! Dude really looks forward to his riding lessons! Thanks so much for making them enjoyable for him (even if you aren’t musically inclined)!

  2. I love your blog, and love reading about Dude. It makes me so happy and gives me hope for the future with my ASD son. Thanks for sharing, I love this story so much!!!

Leave a Reply

