Residual vacation Dude-isms

These Dude-isms from our annual vacation are short and sweet, so they’re getting scrunched together into one post.

Twister

One night, I came across the last 30 minutes of Twister on TV. As I never pass up the opportunity to watch Twister, I sat down to watch.

Dude wandered into the room as Helen Hunt and Bill Paxton were chasing down the final, massive F5 tornado.

“No violins,” Dude said (to understand Dude’s use of the word “no,” kindly refer to the Dude Language Guide).

“What?” I asked.

“No violins,” he said insistently.

It took me a second, but I realized he was referencing the musical score that was accompanying this particular scene. The instrument driving the frantic, tension-inducing tempo?

The violin.

Mary Had a…

Dude turned to Dad one day and, out of the blue, demanded, “Sing lamb song.”

Dude Doesn’t Like Kids

One of Dude’s favorite stimmy phrases is, “What’s in the wash? _____ is in the wash.”

While heading back to our place for a late lunch, Dude and I picked our way among the beach goers.

Dude was in a chatty mood. As we passed a group of boisterous children, he raised some eyebrows from strangers when he turned to me and said, “What’s in the wash? Children are in the wash!”

Volleyball

Dude and I were walking through the hall of our hotel one night. As we approached the turn for our room, we passed two young teens sitting at a table, playing cards. I was about to round the corner when I realized Dude was no longer following me, so I turned around to see what was holding him up. He had stopped and was staring at the very uncomfortable-looking 14-year-old girl who was sitting at the table.

After quickly looking at her, I understood why.

I walked back towards them, laughing airily. “He likes your shirt,” I explained.

She gave me a what-you-talkin-bout-Willis look.

“Volleyball,” I pointed at her t-shirt. “It’s one of his favorite sports.”

“Oh, haha. It’s not even mine,” she said, relaxing a bit.

By this time, I had reached Dude and tugged lightly on his wrist. “Come on, bud,” I prompted. “I’ll pull out one of Dad’s volleyball shirts for you to look at.”

You make me laugh

A phrase often used in our home was, “Oh Dude. You make me laugh.”

I forget what he did, but Dude did or said something silly one day at the beach.

Mom said, “Oh Dude.” But didn’t finish out the “script.”

Dude filled it in for her. “You make me laugh!”

And then he fake laughed. He pitched his voice higher than usual and said, “Hahahahahahaha!”

I can’t remember him ever fake laughing before.

potato headMr. Potato Head

Don’t ask me why, but for some reason, Mom was talking about Mr. Potato Head one day on vacation.

Dude broke into the conversation to sing, “You’ve got a friend in me!

Leave a Reply

