Dude is likely on a terror watch list

Back in March, Jimmy Fallon and Billy Joel used an iPad app to do a live doo-wop version of “The Lion Sleeps Tonight.”

Our family loves Billy Joel. Dude and I were raised on him, and when I began piano lessons, it was my heart’s desire to learn “Piano Man.”

We also love pretty much any genre of music. Dude went through an intense doo-wop phase a few years ago, so the second I saw the video of Jimmy Fallon and Billy Joel, I thought to myself, “I MUST SHOW DUDE THIS VIDEO IMMEDIATELY AND I MUST DOWNLOAD THIS APP TO HIS IPAD.”

The next time I saw him, I snagged him and his iPad.

“Dude, I have you to show you this video. You’re gonna love it!” I promised as I opened the YouTube app.

The home screen was filled with recently viewed videos. I started to type in the search bar, but stopped when my brain got around to processing what I was seeing.

All the videos had something to do with North Korea.

“A Drive through Pyongyang”

“North Korean Military Parade”

“North Korean Choir Honors Glorious Leader!”

Tons of videos with titles in Korean that I didn’t understand.

“What the..?”

And then it dawned on me. One of Dude’s favorite songs/videos is Gangnam Style. He probably watched that video and then just clicked through all the “recommended videos” that popped up.

I proceeded to show him the Billy Joel/Jimmy Fallon video. Dude giggled and sang along, “Wimoweh wimoweh…”

Dad wandered into the room about halfway through the video.

“Awesome!” he exclaimed. “Does Dude like it?”

“Yea, but I’ve got some bad news.” I responded.

“What’s that?”

“Based on Dude’s YouTube history, I think there’s a good chance he’s on a terror watch list.”

Leave a Reply

